First watch: Think I want the H64615135 (Interstellar Watch), but a few questions for a new guy!
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: First watch: Think I want the H64615135 (Interstellar Watch), but a few questions for a new guy!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

First watch: Think I want the H64615135 (Interstellar Watch), but a few questions for a new guy!

Hi all! First post! (A little overwhelmed by the specificity of all the sub-forums, so forgive me if this is in the wrong place).

So, I was watching Interstellar and I thought "that's a cool watch!", so I've been itching to get one ever since. I've looked at a bunch, and don'e a bunch of internet research (what a rabbit hole that is!). Anyway, I think I've decided on the "Coop" watch. It's going to be my first watch. I don't really dress "formally" (or even business casual; I'm a scientist) all that often, but I'd like something that goes well with a night on the town as well as, say, a job interview. My price range is probably under $2000, and honestly, what I care most about is if I like the styling of the watch (I live by/am in the ocean a ton, and I think in theory I'd appreciate the functionality of a dive watch more so than a pilot watch, but I can't imagine either matters much)

Some questions [that I doubt anyone can answer but me, but i'll feel bad if I don't ask]:

1). Where should I buy the watch? My options seem to be: a). Jomashop ($580 out the door), b). Bloomingdales ($750 total, able to return), c). my local AD, for $740 total, exchange only or d). something else you suggest!