First watch- (Tool Watch) 2824 movement, shock protection question? confused.

Thread: First watch- (Tool Watch) 2824 movement, shock protection question? confused.

First watch- (Tool Watch) 2824 movement, shock protection question? confused.

Hi all,

I have a newb question.

I'm new to watch scene, well.. new to high quality watches.

I've decided to take the plunge and buy a decent piece, originally I was looking at a Tag Aquaracer but I'm not too sure if I can justify spending that amount on my first watch.... Then I stumbled across this Tool Watch on Kickstarter (link: TOOL WATCH - A Tool not a Jewel. by Ted Brown - Berkbinder & Brown — Kickstarter) and as I searched around I found a couple of threads on this site made by the watch creator (Ted Brown / brownie99) asking for feedback on his design, etc. The more I read about it the more I liked the idea of purchasing one of his watches. I liked the idea that I was supporting one man's idea and that this was his first watch he was making and it seems to be of high quality. (Yes, I know it's fairly bulky and may not suit everyone, but I'm still being drawn to it).

The movement he is using is a 2824 (Standard grade) but it uses the Incabloc Novodiac shock protection which from what I've read is only available on the Elabore/Top/Chrono - is this correct? Or is it also available in the standard grade? I thought it may possibly be a modified standard but then more I read about ETA and the whole Swatch debacle the more I thought it probably isn’t modified. Though I do notice the 2824 movements available from Otto Frei use the Incabloc Novodiac shock protection but it makes no note of the grade. So confused right now.

Anyone have any insight into this? I am probably completely wrong and have just confused myself (I'm new!).

Anyway-- I've learned more about watches/movements in the past 48hrs then I ever thought I'd need to know and I can't wait to start collecting a few nice watches.