A general "hello" to the forum, and a bit of a story about my current watch journey.
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: A general "hello" to the forum, and a bit of a story about my current watch journey.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

A general "hello" to the forum, and a bit of a story about my current watch journey.

Greetings, salutations and felicitations to all.......

I thought I'd introduce myself to the membership at large- and maybe tell a bit of a story as well.

In short, I'm a professional pilot (retired military and currently commercial), and while having been interested in watches off and on, my interest usually stopped at about the $300-$500 level.....

..... with the notable exception of a vintage Glycine Airman that was my father's. He purchased it new during his tour as a Caribou pilot in Viet Nam (around 1969-1970) and passed it to me when I graduated pilot training.

I wore it through Desert Shield/Desert Storm (Gulf War, Part I) and Operation Iraqi Freedom/Enduring Freedom (Gulf War, Part II) as a C-5 Driver-- that watch put up with a LOT of time in jets around the world and has been serviced several times along the way.

But now that I'm older, my eyes aren't quite what they used to be and the rather small typeface of the Glycine has been getting harder and harder to read lately.

About the same time, my wife (with the best of intentions) got me a Tourneau Aviator for my 50th birthday. And while it was a lovely gesture, the watch and I just never really bonded-- it was a little too "flashy" for me and was more of a "fashion statement" than a serious watch, and so (after a pretty good fight and a few tears), it went away and I started looking for a replacement for it.

Per my wife's direction, it had to be a "good" watch, and one that I really liked and would "be happy with".