GMT - Omega? New? Used? advice sought...

Thread: GMT - Omega? New? Used? advice sought...

CWP

Question GMT - Omega? New? Used? advice sought...

I'm putting this post on several boards, hoping for the widest exposure and response. I'm grateful that we have these forums, allowing novices like me to pose these questions!

I travel extensively and I'm looking for a rugged GMT watch to wear for work. When I get on a plane, I switch to my faithful Timex beater that has analog and digital clocks.

I've seen a lot of GMTs on this and other boards. Some look pretty nice. Others don't appeal to me.

I've considered the Hamilton Khaki GMT (don't like the GMT window) and the Marathon GSAR (don't care for the looks) but would like a more "noticeable" or well known watch.

I've also bought several watches off of the boards, with varying degrees of satisfaction. I've had no outright bad experiences, but I've had a few that I wouldn't care to repeat (wouldn't buy the watch again, now that I've actually received it).

I'm not looking for a pristine watch; I'll probably put lots of dings and dents in it while working.

I've seen "previously enjoyed" Omega GMTs (which I like the looks of) on boards from about $1000 and up. Given the experiences that I've had buying other than new watches, I'm a bit leery about just plunking down that kind of money on something I haven't actually touched.

I've located a brand new Omega Seamaster GMT 2234.50.00 from an AD for $1700, delivered.

OK - some questions that I hope you'll help me with...

I know that Omega is a good brand. Buying it new, from an AD would give me a warrantee. Is it worth the extra to buy new?

If I buy a used Omega with "papers," does any type of warrantee convey? Or are the "papers" just valuable between watch aficionados?

What is the normal warrantee period?

Is $1700 a good price for a new Omega GMT?

About how much does the watch depreciate once I "drive it off the lot?"

I appreciate any and all comments and advice.