Have Rolex Lost their way?

Thread: Have Rolex Lost their way?

Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

Have Rolex Lost their way?

This could be just me but When I walk past a Rolex shop which I have been doing for 35 years, I now do not expect to see anything new.

Omega yes, Breightling Yes, other companies yes Rolex NO.

Back in the seventies I would drool over the same watches that are available today and the same cases, and the same technology.

What made Rolex special then was a company that innovated, that produced new and exciting models etc.,

Today I see nothing new This may be just me but where is the excitement the commitment to the future to the heritage.

I see a company that is a Swiss cash cow. There are better mechanical watches, prettier watches out there with more soul.

I would like to own a Rolex that I could be proud of, that had advanced in the last 30 odd years.

Would the founders of Rolex approve of todays very boring Directors even by Swiss standards.

Maybe I have missed something but the only thing I can remember seeing is a new green bezel.

Not bad on a 40 million pound research budget.

stuffler,mike

Re: Have Rolex Lost their way?

Well, mentioning the green bezel SUB and not mentioning the Basel 2007 novelties make me curious if you follow Rolex closely ?

Just to remember: Rolex Xacht Master II; Milgauss
    Attached Images Attached Images

I don't know how to say it in Swiss but "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
    Really, why do they have to change, they are selling them as fast as they want to, regulating the price, and have created a reputation (and yes, many would agree with you that it is not deserved but that's not the point)and brand recognition second to none.

Oh, what about that new fangled saphire crystal? And getting rid of the little holes in the sides of the lugs? and those are just the MAJOR changes in the last 35 years, there are lots of minor changes too........
    Don

4. Remove Advertisements