Have you ever randomly met another WIS?

Thread: Have you ever randomly met another WIS?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Have you ever randomly met another WIS?

Hey, I am kinda new to this forum and just wanted to introduce myself and pose a question. I have spent literally the past three months incessantly surfing and reading this forum while procrastinating doing actual work (I am an undergrad so a large portion of my time is spent in procrastination). It has gotten to the point that my friends look at me weird when I talk about watches.
    Anyways, back to my question, have any of you randomly met someone who was as much a WIS as you are? Or to put it differently, are there are a lot of people like us?
    Seiko 5 SNK809 Automatic, Caliber 7s26c
    Citizen BM8180-03E Eco-Drive, Caliber E101

Orient FER1X004W0 - Chicane Caliber ER487

Re: Have you ever randomly met another WIS?

Welcome to the forum .
    I am fortunate enough to have a twin brother who is just as crazy about watches a I am, so its always nice to have someone close who understands this hobby
    I have only bumped into one other WIS in the last one year I have myself been onto watches. He was a jewelry salesman in Singapore and while my bother's girlfriend was having a look at some stuff, he casually asked me if i wanted to pick up anything for my gf (who was back home in India at that time) at which point she said "all they spend money on is their watches!". The guy suddenly perked up and started talking about how he too liked them especially Omega and had been saving up to buy a Speedmaster. He was delighted to see my brother's white Seamaster. We three then started discussing about our watches and some other brands for a while .
    Whether he said that to make a sale or not, I cant say for sure, but it was nice to bump into someone and chat about watches.
    Are you watching closely?
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------