Hello to the forum, and VSA AirBoss Mach 4 vs. Boschett Ocean Mariner
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Hello to the forum, and VSA AirBoss Mach 4 vs. Boschett Ocean Mariner

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Hello to the forum, and VSA AirBoss Mach 4 vs. Boschett Ocean Mariner

First of all, just wanted to say hi to everybody here at WUS! I'm an engineer living in the Salt Lake City, UT area with a newly developed interest in horology, and I've been lurking for some time now trying to research my first mechanical watch purchase; finally decided to stop creeping and join in! Many thanks for all the information this forum has provided me in the last few months, and I'm looking forward to interacting with all of you in the future.

Now on to my question. After a month or so of research I've narrowed my aforementioned first mechanical purchase down to the Victorinox AirBoss Mach 4 handwinder (here) and the (black face) Boschett Ocean Mariner (here). I've found a deal where I can get the Vic (a $1350 list watch) for just under $600, roughly the same as the OM, but Boschett has a deal going on where I can get a free winder if I buy an OM from them. So both are IMO great deals.

Summary of specs:
    Airboss Mach 4
    Handwinding, not sure of movt (says automatic on macy's website for some reason, this is wrong)
    100m WR
    45mm diam, 12.5mm thickness
    Sapphire crystal with AR coating
    Exhibition caseback
    Leather strap with standard buckle
    Small seconds display
    Internal bidirectional bezel

Ocean Mariner
    Automatic ETA 2824-2 gold plated
    300m WR w/ screw down crown
    42mm diam, 13mm thickness
    Sapphire crystal
    316L stainless steel bracelet with solid end links
    Date window (w/o magnifier for me)
    Unidirectional diving bezel