WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

Help a Newbie with a Daily Driver Watch with Versatility

2K views 23 replies 10 participants last post by  atdegs 
#1 ·
Hi All. I'm new to this site and generally new to watches. I've had an older Breitling Chronomat A13050.1 that I've been wearing as my daily on a black leather strap for the past 3-4 years. I'm looking to get a new watch for my daily and probably unload the Breitling at some point. In looking around on this site and online in general, I have been looking at the Sinn 104 (both with indices and Arabic numerals with the latter slowly gaining momentum), as well as the Damasko DA46, but I would like to hear other suggestions from the more knowledgeable. Here are my criteria:

1. The watch will be worn daily, so I need something that versatile enough that can be worn with shorts and t-shirt as well as a dress shirt and pants (with or without bracelet/strap change)
2. Automatic movement - Not particular on the movement, but I would think a simpler/more standard movement (e.g. ETA and the like) would be ideal especially if it's a brand like Sinn where I probably wouldn't go to an AD for servicing if needed
3. Good quality building, solid feel, and accurate time keeping
4. No more than $1,500USD - I'm not opposed to second hand purchases assuming they're in excellent shape, but my apprehension is paying for a frankenstein or fake watch due to my lack of knowledge on a particular brand/model
5. Size between 40-43mm
6. Ideally, it would be on a bracelet and I would buy aftermarket straps to interchange them but if it's strap only, it's not a dealbreaker.
7. Durable - Since it'll be worn daily, I'm not wanting something that will scratch too easily. I'm not hard on my watch, but at the same time, need something to withstand bumps and bruises along the way.
8. Bezel is a must