WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

How do you handle lowball offers for your watch?

7K views 94 replies 78 participants last post by  benji19 
#1 ·
I have been selling on E-Bay for about 18 years now. E-Bay has made many changes since the early days.
I do not list with the auction format since putting a reserve carries a big charge if the item does not sell.
Therefore I list all as Buy Now or make an offer. I do not pull my asking price out of my a** but do some research
on the Internet to arrive at the market value. I have had lots of offers that are simply ridiculous.
These are offers that an interested buyer would never make in a face to face transaction. I know, I used to have
a brick and mortar store. If they did they would be asked politely to leave.
If you sell a watch online and experience ridiculous offers, how do you respond?

#4 ·
I've never sold a watch online, but I've sold a whole truck load of used bicycles on the interwebs. Here's what I've always done... I bite my tongue, then reply "thank you for your offer, but I'm holding out for a better offer".

There's no reason for you to get mad or upset. It's nothing personal against you. They're just looking for a great deal, or starting the negotiations off with a low offer to feel you out.

Jeff

#69 ·
I've never sold a watch online, but I've sold a whole truck load of used bicycles on the interwebs. Here's what I've always done... I bite my tongue, then reply "thank you for your offer, but I'm holding out for a better offer".

There's no reason for you to get mad or upset. It's nothing personal against you. They're just looking for a great deal, or starting the negotiations off with a low offer to feel you out.

Jeff