How to properly test watch precision?
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: How to properly test watch precision?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

How to properly test watch precision?

Hello,

I'm new to the watch world. I recently purchased a Bell & Ross 03-92 Steel. I hear on podcasts people saying, "my watch keeps great time." How do I properly test a watche's precision? Is this done generally over a 24 hour period or longer?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: How to properly test watch precision?

I'd say the most readily accessible way would be to download the WatchCheck app for your phone and use it to build a daily log of how your watch keeps time against NTP servers.
    justinloos88 likes this.

Thank you, I will try this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

I just go to time.is and set my watch according to this. Then something the next day (around 24 hours later), I compare it again. That's as much as I worry about, but then I change watches every day and by the time I get back around to the first watch, it's long since run down/needs resetting. Hence, I don't worry about accuracy or precision.

BTW, welcome to the madness. You and your wallet are in for a treat. ;)
    filcord and justinloos88 like this.

Find an accurate time source, I like the “Emerald and Sequoia” time app. Wait until the second hand on your watch reaches 12oclock and pull out the crown. Set the correct time and wait for the app’s seconds to reach “0”, now push in the crown. Now your watch is perfectly synchronized with an atomic time source.

Check your watch against the same app in 24 hours and see how much time it’s gained or lost.

Enjoy!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    justinloos88 likes this.

I recently went through the same process. I checked the watch against my atomic clock app once daily for seven days. I found that the difference was little on the weekdays when I wore it more than on the weekend . I averaged out over the 7 days.