I hate the watch culture sometimes
Like Tree337Likes

Thread: I hate the watch culture sometimes

Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

I hate the watch culture at times, mainly when it involves the younger generation.
    I absolutely enjoy marveling at pieces from my fellow WUS peers from Sinns to Pateks and everything in between (except Swatch. I hate Swatch for some bad experiences) but thats just it, I enjoy it for the watches.
    These days, it just feels as though most posts of an expensive watch has the OP interject some comment subtly about how much money they have or how young they are and has this amazing piece.
    This anger is probably mainly directed at the subreddit "watches" (WUS is surprisingly pretty void of income talk).
    If a expensive piece is posted then it ends up being a type of thread where one person might say "I clear 6 figures and I'm only 20!!!" and then another person might write "I'm a surgeon that has crazy amount" or "I work on wall street and have a high rise." I think there was even a post where a user commented that he wouldn't get a certain watch "even though he's 28 and clears 240K annually." The deviation from the main topic is just mind blowing. Why do people insist on dropping these personal tidbits of income and worth?
    What happened to enjoying watches for how they look, the appreciation of the heritage? Everything at least over there is so "I have so much money, look at me." I'm just sad that people are more likely to say hey that guy has so much money than "that is a gorgeous piece."
    Last edited by soaking.fused; February 6th, 2018 at 21:43. Reason: Rule 2; Foul language

Re: I hate the watch culture sometimes

You need to hang out in the affordables forum more
    My collection changes so often I got tired of redoing my signature