I think my watch needs regulating?
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: I think my watch needs regulating?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Unhappy I think my watch needs regulating?

Hi all,

I have a CW C60 Trident Pro which I got around September last year. I keep it on a watch winder and I set it at the beginning of May (after the April date flick) and left it. Today I notice it is over 5 minutes slow... by my maths that's an average of -25s per day. I don't think that's within the acceptable boundary for a Sellita SW-200. Anyone any thoughts?

Cheers.
    Omega - Aqua Terra 8500
    Frederique Constant - Slimline Moonphase Manufacture
    C Ward - C60 Trident-Pro

A fanatic is one who can't change his mind and won't change the subject - Sir W S Churchill

Re: I think my watch needs regulating?

I'm a bit of a novice at this... but what happens if you wear it on your wrist? How about when you lay it at different positions on a table overnight (dial up, dial down, crown up, crown down, etc...)?

My watches all behave differently depending what I/its doing. I've even seen different variance between when I've let it unwind and stop and the next wind. Just based on my limited experience with several watches over a number of months I've gone from being convinced I needed my new watches regulated to understanding their idiosyncrasies and keeping them within a minute or two weekly to as little as few seconds. For one stint my watch was losing over 15 seconds a day so I let it unwind and now wind it in the morning and night (even though it is automatic) and it has been staying within 2 seconds per day. I've learned automatic watches are a strange animal. I suppose if I had a $6K spring drive Grand Seiko I wouldn't be so forgiving trying to work with a watch that was not consistently within a couple of seconds.