IWC Portuguese 3714
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: IWC Portuguese 3714

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

IWC Portuguese 3714

Hi all,
    I am quite new to automatic watches, I currently only own a Hamilton Jazzmaster. I am looking to step up and am considering an IWC Portuguese chrono 3714, which I find absolutely beautiful. I'd like to know a bit more about the technical aspects of this watch, in particular about their ETA movement:

- I believe they use an ETA 7750 movement. Is that correct? I believe this is a very good movement, would you agree?

- I understand they used to modify the movement quite substantially but this is no longer the case. Would you consider this jeopardizes the quality, precision and longevity of the movement?

- Overall, would you recommend this watch from a technical point of view?

Can anyone help out?
    Anything else I should be looking out for?

Thanks!

A first automatic watch

I am looking into my first automatic watch and I want to invest in a really nice one.

I'm interested in an IWC Portuguese chrono 3714.
    Does anyone have any thoughts about this watch? The precision and durability of the movement?

Thanks in advance for your help!

IWC as a brand is a very highly regarded one. They make an outstanding product across their range. The automatic movement is a very mature technology meaning bad luck will be the determining factor in the selection of a watch that performs poorly.
    With this established all that really matters is your appreciation of the aesthetics.
    Enjoying a life far better than I deserve...

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Re: A first automatic watch

It's a (highly? I forget - get googling) modified eta 7750 - THE ubiquitous Swiss auto chrono movement. Reliable, but not exotic, though it is modified. They have an in-house Portuguese Chrono but I don't think it looks as good and it's about twice the price.
    BusyTimmy likes this.

Moderator at Large stuffler,mike's Avatar