Laminating a watch crystal?
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Laminating a watch crystal?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Laminating a watch crystal?

I've got a watch with a flat mineral crystal, no cyclops, and the crystal is flawless. I was thinking that, to KEEP it that way, it might be possible to glue a flat sapphire crystal on top of it?

I don't mind if the sapphire sticks up a little, as it does on the Lunar Pilot (initially i was sort of puzzled by the LP, but have gotten used to it now).

Is there a certain type of adhesive which would be good for this? Should dry completely transparent and with no bubbles.

Just a thought experiment

Re: Laminating a watch crystal?

I'm making this all up, I have no experience here, but: Wouldn't it be easier and better to just buff the mineral crystal if damaged, and to replace it if not fixed by buffing? I'd imagine whatever laminate you put on would be less durable than the crystal you're covering.
    A. Lange & Söhne 1815 Annual Calendar | Glashütte Original Senator Observer | Rolex GMT-II 116710 BLNR | Panerai 00524 Flyback | Tudor Pelagos | Magrette Dual Time

So laminate is the wrong word. But there is a company that got its start taking helicopter blade film and adapting it to phone screens. It's called Invisible Shield and I believe you can still buy it in sheets. It's pretty darn clear for a self-healing film.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Why not just buy a sapphire crystal of the correct size and have a watchmaker swap the crystals?
    MZhammer, JacobC and ffritz like this.
    Powered by 1.21 Gigawatts

You "laminate" floors not a watch.

You can search on Amazon for watch screen protector. I have a few on my Casio G-Shock squares.
    drdas007 likes this.

Patek Philippe Calatrava 5119J; Vacheron Constantin Overseas; Jaeger-LeCoultre Grande Reverso Duo; Rolex Submariner 114060; Omega Seamaster 300; Montblanc Heritage Dual Time; Tudor Black Bay.