? for lawyers re: watch choice in public

Thread: ? for lawyers re: watch choice in public

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

? for lawyers re: watch choice in public

I'm a lawyer, and I spend a fair amount of time (for a civil litigator) in public (in court etc.)

I usually make a point to go pretty "conservative" for court appearances or when I'm in front of a jury, i.e., no cufflinks, no contrast collar shirts, no funky looking designer suits, no funky-lookin square-toed shoes, etc. (actually, the only one of those I wear to begin with are cufflinks . . . ). I have a conservative client base, and I think my audience expects a conservative look.

As I have been acquiring more and more watches (and they seem to be getting larger and larger in size) the problem becomes this: I don't really wanna wear some of these things in public for fear of being too "in your face" or "showy" (or even remotely so).

I'm kind of leaning towards dragging my old Seiko plain jane quartz (black face, on a folded (gasp!) oyster band) out of the back of the closet for public appearnaces.

Anyone else downgrade their hardware when they need to be in public?

Re: ? for lawyers re: watch choice in public

if i were you i would just wear a non date rolex sub, steel on steel. pretty conservitave, yet is a rgged utilitarian peice, and w/o the cyclops or date most people wont recognize it as a rolex.

I wore my Kobold SEAL on a Delaurian Stitchless Black Widow when I testified on a death-penalty case last week. The only one who commented on it was the DA, and he liked it a lot.
    Scott

Life is tough. It's tougher if you're stupid.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by Mugnut View Post
    I'm a lawyer, and I spend a fair amount of time (for a civil litigator) in public (in court etc.)