Looking for advice on a first watch
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Looking for advice on a first watch

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Smile Looking for advice on a first watch

Hello everybody. I am extremely new to the watch community although my love for watches has been a growing thing. I developed an interest for watches around my 14th birthday when I bought my first: a Seiko 5 Sports. Ever since my interest has manifested. I find the intricacy of the movements and craftsmanship very appealing. Now im no watch connoisseur but I have done my research into brands, movements and history; and by no means have I even scratched the surface!

Now down to my question. I have been saving up and I think id like to invest in my first low-end luxury watch, Id like to keep my budget around the £2000 ($3200) mark so anything like an AP or Patek is completely out of the question. Unlike most though, I am not looking for an investment, im looking for something I can enjoy. Something I can say when I am older: "I wore this when I was 20". I have a few preferences but nothing that narrows down my options.
    I would like:
    -A skeleton cased back
    -Something Automatic or Manual
    -Durable
    -Nothing with too much going on on the dial, ie a Breitling (Not very fond of them)
    -A sweeping hand would also be nice but not essential

My two initial choices are:

The Omega Speedmaster Pro 'Moonwatch'

And the Longines Master

I welcome any criticisms and suggestions as I have a lot to learn still. Thank you for reading!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Looking for advice on a first watch

Seems you've done your reading on the WUS forum as you have identified two very nice watches as your first "nice" one. Check out this thread...I believe it will help;

https://forums.watchuseek.com/f2/bran...er-934821.html

After you've seen what others value highly, your opinion will be the only one that counts.

Cheers,

Walter
    Last edited by wschofield3; October 30th, 2013 at 23:35.