Looking for my first nice watch

Thread: Looking for my first nice watch

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question Looking for my first nice watch

Hi everyone,
    I'm new here and I'm also quite new to the world of watches. I'm looking for my first nice watch and would like some advices. I have 2 quartz watches, 1 mechanical and I am looking to had another one, my first "expensive one". I've done some research and I think I know what I want, here's what I'm looking for:

-A watch no larger than 42mm (between 38 and 42).
    -A see through case back to see the mechanism (or a skeleton watch but I think this is more expensive).
    -I would like one that runs at 28000bph, my other mechanical runs at 21XXX so I would really like one that runs more smoothly.
    -The date would be a nice addition but is not required.
    -A sapphire crystal.
    -And finally a watch less than 800$.

So far I've my eyes on the Hamilton khaki field, the Swiss Army airboss and the Tissot PRS516. Do you know other watches that would fit these specs?
    Thanks!

Re: Looking for my first nice watch

Might I suggest Archimede? They have a superb reputation, and the "Flieger" Pilot at 42mm is a classic. I'm wearing mine at the moment It has the sapphire crystal and display back.

The best part is that you don't even have to spend $800; its around $400. Of course, if you can extend the budget by $75 or so, they have a chronograph that is fabulous.

Perhaps an even better option would be to scrounge up another $200 bucks and get a Stowa Marine Original. Visit the Stowa forum on this site. Its an amazing watch for the money. Manual wind, decorated, impecable quality for the money. I can't belive I don't have one. Seriously. They sell out as fast as they're made, so you would need to get in line for May delivery now. Well worth the wait.

I really like the Archimede Outdoor - Trekking Titanium, it looks like a nice watch watch at a really reasonable price. I actually didn't know that company existed.