Magnetic fields
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: Magnetic fields

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Magnetic fields

Hi all! Iíve read up on the effects of magnetic fields around automatic watches but I was looking for more real world experience from an expert. Iím a machinist by trade, Iím not really around strong magnetic fields much but in the process of metal on metal sometimes a piece will become mildly magnetized. Not very strong but still there. Will this affect my automatic watch?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Magnetic fields

Does your shop have a demagnetizer? If not don't worry. Just sayin.
    As a side note I worked in Sterile Processing for 6 years we had 2 demagnetizers for ss instruments only occasionally did we use them.
    Sent from my K92 using Tapatalk
    Mikefable likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by Slm643 View Post
    Does your shop have a demagnetizer? If not don't worry. Just sayin.
    As a side note I worked in Sterile Processing for 6 years we had 2 demagnetizers for ss instruments only occasionally did we use them.
    No we donít, thank you for the response! Itís much appreciated!

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by Mikefable View Post
    Hi all! I’ve read up on the effects of magnetic fields around automatic watches but I was looking for more real world experience from an expert. I’m a machinist by trade, I’m not really around strong magnetic fields much but in the process of metal on metal sometimes a piece will become mildly magnetized. Not very strong but still there. Will this affect my automatic watch?

Aren't the endmills, lathes, etc powered by electric motors? Those give off a magnetic field.

Practically all watches made in the past 30 years can resist low level fields (typical refrigerator magnet strength). Lightly magnetized chips aren't apt to have an effect.
    Rocket1991 likes this.
    Powered by 1.21 Gigawatts

Quote Originally Posted by Mikefable View Post