Need advice on picking a watch

Thread: Need advice on picking a watch

Need advice on picking a watch

I've been eyeing watches for quite some time now, but have held off on buying one until now. As an incoming Senior with some money laying around, I feel that its time I satisfy my desires and buy a watch. However, I am still fairly new to the watch world and would greatly appreciate advice from a more experienced watch enthusiast.
    I've been searching around, and a few watches have caught my eye. But before I get into that, allow me to share my requirements.
    The price range is $500-$1000USD, though I'm willing to go slightly above or below for a special watch. The movement must be automatic. I have no desire to own a quartz watch, regardless of their accuracy. I'd prefer that it come with a metal bracelet. I have nothing against leather, but I frequently wear both brown and black leather. I don't want to mix leather colors so I'd rather just avoid leather straps. I'm neither a pilot nor a diver, though some water resistance is always nice.
    The watch should be Swiss, though German is also acceptable. The complications don't really sway me, so I don't mind a simple three-hand watch.
    It would be great if it could be worn casually or formally. And lastly, I have small wrists (just under 7in) Any watch at or above 42mm would look silly.
    My search has yielded several options. Feel free to share your experiences, protest my choices, or suggest a different watch. In no particular order:

--Tissot LeLocle. It caught my eye early in my search with its simple elegance and moderate price. The black-faced one would probably be my first pick, but I would have to see them both side by side to know for sure.

--Hamilton Valiant Black Dial. Similar to the LeLocle, but I like the Roman Numerals on this one.