Need Advice & Suggestions for "Wedding Watch"
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: Need Advice & Suggestions for "Wedding Watch"

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Need Advice & Suggestions for "Wedding Watch"

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the world of (non-fashion) watches and also new to this forum. I've found myself obsessing over watches lately and spending far too much time researching, reading and browsing (but I love it).

My reason for posting is that I am getting married in about a year, and my wonderful fiance has signed on to my half-serious comment prior to our engagement that I should get a nice watch instead of a wedding ring when the time comes, because I don't wear rings and would prefer not to. We're quite happy and secure in our relationship so she agreed to replace my ring with a "wedding watch".

Our price range is about $7k - $9k. I feel that it should be a dress watch considering the occasion, but it needs to be versatile enough that I can wear it just about every day. I work in a business environment, so a dress watch will work well there, but it should not be out of place on the weekends when I'm in jeans and a t-shirt.

Below are some of my preferences, but I'm open to other suggestions as well. The more I look at watches the more I have begun to appreciate styles which at one point I may have discounted.

- I like the moonphase and calendar complications. They remind me of a grandfather clock, which just makes me think "heirloom".
    - I like gold (especially rose gold), but in many of the watches I've tagged up to this point, the gold versions put them out of my price range.
    - I prefer leather bands (can't decide if black or brown will work better).
    - I prefer the 38mm-44mm range, but for the right vintage watch I'd go down to 35mm at the smallest.