Need some help Identifying a LAVINA, Watch, Pocket watch or Travel Clock with Alarm??? Help Please..

Thread: Need some help Identifying a LAVINA, Watch, Pocket watch or Travel Clock with Alarm??? Help Please..

Need some help Identifying a LAVINA, Watch, Pocket watch or Travel Clock with Alarm??? Help Please..

Name:  DSC04246.JPG
Views: 1186
Size:  746.6 KBNeed some help Identifying a LAVINA, Watch, Pocket watch or Travel Clock with Alarm??? Help Please..

Hi all, I'm a newbie and hope I'm posting in the right place. Anyway's, bought what I think is a pocket watch, at an Estate Sale and its confusing the heck at out me because after a closer look, I've never seen anything like it before. It has two stems, one to wind and set the watch and the other to wind and set the alarm. Name:  DSC04249.JPG
Views: 1072
Size:  750.1 KBName:  DSC04253.JPG
Views: 1084
Size:  976.4 KB The markings on the back just say Swiss 35-185 and on the front, Lavina & Swiss Made.

I can't figure out how to open it and won't even try anymore but I'd really appreciate it if someone could give me some information on what exactly I have and if its worth much. I understand, no appraisals, but just an idea on value would help but most importantly, time period and identification.

Thank you!!!
    Last edited by kypo; August 21st, 2012 at 04:18. Reason: Needed to add a picture

Moderator at Large stuffler,mike's Avatar

Re: Need some help Identifying a LAVINA, Watch, Pocket watch or Travel Clock with Alarm??? Help Plea

Looks like a typical wrist alarm watch vonverted into a desk watch in the 70ties. A lot of manufacturers did these convesions, Stowa would be a good example to look at.
    As far as I can see yours got a snap-on back. Just get a watchmaker's knife and open it up (carefully, don't scratch it). Take a pic of the movement and we can tell you what you got.
    Worth: Not much, sentimental value.
    Kind regards
    Mike

Instagram @mikestuffler