New member - first "nice" watch Speedy Pro v Carrera
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: New member - first "nice" watch Speedy Pro v Carrera

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

New member - first "nice" watch Speedy Pro v Carrera

Hi all

A regular reader over the last 6 months, but first time poster. Looking to tap into the expertise of the members here.

I am looking to buy my first luxury watch in the next couple of weeks. At the moment, I have a Tissot PRS516 Chrono, but I find it too big and chunky to wear with a suit (I work in a bank). I have been looking at quite a few options, but think I have narrowed it down to either a Speedy Pro or Tag Carrera Heritage Calibre 6 (not the chrono).

Re the Speedy Pro I have the opportunity to either buy a late 80's vintage on the 1450 bracelet for ~$3k from a local vintage dealer or online for ~$4k. The vintage watch is in good condition and comes with a 12 month warranty from the vintage dealer, but I am thinking for the extra money maybe I would be more comfortable with a brand new watch to last much longer. Any advice on this one?

Alternatively, the Carrera looks very nice and I can get one that is 12 months old for a reasonable price (~$1700).

I would obviously prefer the Speedy Pro, but I was after your thoughts on whether it represents 'double' the value of the Carrera. I am in my mid-20's so have plenty of time to build a collection later on.

I do prefer the look and feel of the Speedy.

Thanks for your input all and for having me on board the forum!

Re: New member - first "nice" watch Speedy Pro v Carrera

Welcome to the forums

I would go with the Speedy though judging from the prices where I am based, 3-4k for a late 80s model is rather steep.

from what i've seen you can get used speedy in good condition for less than that.. if you want to save a few buck go for used and online, which i'm sure you are aware of :)
    as for the choice, speedy pro only (Tag not even close to make a serious competitor)