New member looking for advice
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: New member looking for advice

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

New member looking for advice

Hi

I am new to this forum, so for my first post I will introduce myself before I ask you guys for advice. I am a 21 year old person from south Africa. I am currently a student.

I joined with the specific intent to get some advice from you guys. I've been reading a lot of the threads on this forum, however I need some specific advice.
    My girlfriend's father is quite an avid watch enthusiast and he got me bitten by the bug a few years ago. Since then I bought two vostok watches as they are really cool and budget was always a factor. However I recently turned 21 and got some money for my birthday so I am looking at getting myself a nice automatic watch. I would probably have to have one shipped from overseas as stuff is just ridiculously expensive over here. To give you an example, a Hamilton king khaki would cost about $350 in the united states, here it costs R7000, which is about $500 comparatively.

I am looking at buying a nice automatic watch. My budget is $350 if I have to have one shipped from overseas as I have to pay shipping and customs, however I would also look at anything under that price range (the Seiko 5 autos also attract my attention). Basically what I'm asking is what watches are out there? Please give me some advice.
    To give you an idea of what I like, I have been looking at the hamilton king khaki but I am not sure if I want to spend that much(I could if I really really like the watch). Also I do not want another vostok at this stage(They are really cool however 2 is more than enough for me). I like a dial that's not to busy.

Thank you for your time.
    Ps. Sorry for the long winded post.

Re: New member looking for advice

Check out an Seiko skx007 or 009. Those can be had for less than 200 used. A used Steinhart may also be a possibility

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk