New Member From PA, My Watch Journey, & Rolex Daytona Wait
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By MiamiMikePA

Thread: New Member From PA, My Watch Journey, & Rolex Daytona Wait

New Member From PA, My Watch Journey, & Rolex Daytona Wait

Hey Guys,

My name is Mike and I'm a new member from PA. I was on WatchTalk forum years ago, but had to walk away from high end watches for a while. Here's my story...

It all started when I graduated high school and my dad gifted me his Tag Pro 1500 Granite face. Didn't know much about watches at the time, but I was instantly in love with it. I then started looking into watches more and thought my next watch would be a Rolex Date Just as it was a Rolex (only brand I really knew) and in the realm of something I thought I may be able to afford soon after graduating college. Before I could pull the trigger on a Rolex I saw an IWC Portuguese and immediately fell in love. I was fortunate enough to purchase the IWC Chrono and Automatic from a friend who needed some money at an extremely discounted rate. After wearing them both for about 6 months I had determined The Automatic was really the watch for me and the Chrono was getting almost no wrist time. Since the 2 were in the same color scheme (white face, blue hands, blue leather strap) I decided to sell the Chrono. Again, the only reason I bought them in the same color scheme was because of the crazy deal I got on them.

After about 2 years of wearing the Automatic basically everyday I got the news...a baby boy was on the way. That was scary enough, but then I found out my girlfriend at the time had no medical insurance. So, as much as it killed me, I was forced to sell my beloved watch and go back to only owning the Tag.