Newbie question - how do you distinquish brands that use the same movement?

Thread: Newbie question - how do you distinquish brands that use the same movement?

Newbie question - how do you distinquish brands that use the same movement?

Hi all,
    i am new to this and I would like to have my own collection. As i research into brands and makes, i noticed many manufacturers use the same watch movement. For example, the ETA 7750 movement is used by many brands. I read that as an example, IWC makes significant changes to the ETA movements and I can rationalise that to the higher cost of their watches. But for other 'lesser' known brands, what should i use to guage a watch? Presumably, watches that use the same movement will have the same accuracy, therfore the only difference is the personal preference on the case, the strap, display back, the dial, the look etc? Am I being too simplistic?
    Thanks very much for your advice.
    kymikai

Re: Newbie question - how do you distinquish brands that use the same movement?

It all comes down to tweaking or tunning and decoration. Raymond Weil
    and Freddy Constant do a great job in their price range and well as
    Longines and many others. Some live on name and propaganda. It takes time to weed those out. Now I tend to laugh at the most hallowed of names.

thanks very much, after reading some of the posts here, i understand it a little bit more, this forum is a great resource. Let me rephrase my question.

Quote Originally Posted by Watchbreath
    It all comes down to tweaking or tunning and decoration. Raymond Weil
    and Freddy Constant do a great job in their price range and well as
    Longines and many others. Some live on name and propaganda. It takes time to weed those out. Now I tend to laugh at the most hallowed of names.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

What it comes down to is your eye and budget.