No love for Seiko?

Thread: No love for Seiko?

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

No love for Seiko?

Hi everybody, this is my first post on WUS. This is a great community you have here, and I´m happy to participate. Even though I have a modest collection, I am certainly no expert, and I´m looking forward to learn a lot from you all.

As my handle implies, Seiko is my favorite brand. To me, they offer the best bang for the buck. By far. Seiko offers a lot of models, with quality in-house manufactured movements, and the price is right. The watch I wear every day is a Seiko 5 military style, with 7S26 movement. I wear it on a black NATO. I have been wearing it for about two years, the hardlex crystal still looks pristine, the movement has never given me any trouble (I set it about twice a month), and it looks good. People actually compliment the watch, and it can be had for less than $70. I also have an Oris TT1, but it does not get out of its box too much. It took me 8 months to save for the Oris, and I ended up using it only on very special occasions. Sometimes I put it on my wrist just to admire it, wind it, and then I put it back in its box. I won´t sell the Oris, but I feel more confortable wearing the Seiko automatics. I am not a rich man, and that fact colours my perception.

I have read a lot of threads on these forums. Along with many Seiko fans, I have also read posts from people that do not like it that much. Maybe I got the wrong impression, but I have read messages implying disdain for the brand.

That is alright, of course. We all like different things and so forth. But I wonder if there is anything I am missing here. What is it about Seiko, that some people don´t like? What is it that YOU don´t like?

I am not trying to push any buttons here, just curious.

Re: No love for Seiko?

I have had in the past and will get again
    6138-0040 blue black , and a brown one
    bellmatics ,
    7002-7009 and a few other 7002 variants
    a few 6139's ...