Not a Rolex Expert and Would Like to Know What This Term Means.
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Not a Rolex Expert and Would Like to Know What This Term Means.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Not a Rolex Expert and Would Like to Know What This Term Means.

As I mentioned, I am no Rolex expert and sorry for, what would seem like a newbie question, but I have noticed a lot of for sale and other comments where the seller, for instance, makes a point of noting that it is a, "random serial number". What does this mean? Is that a selling point, does it increase the selling price? I know all of my watches have a "random serial number"!

Just curious... thanx!
    GlennO likes this.
    "Time isn't the main thing. It is the only thing!" - Miles Davis

I have found that some people just like to hear themselves typing.

Friends don't let friends buy G-Schlocks.

You think I'm condescending...?? Do you even know what that means... ??

Every time God closes one door... I open a bottle of bourbon.

¹ I have learned that you have to put a smiley face or LOL behind anything just so people don't take you too seriously.

Re: Not a Rolex Expert and Would Like to Know What This Term Means.

I think they scrambled the serial number to reduce the chance of pinpointing the production year of models so they can sit on shelves for longer and still be sold as "new". There were some threads on this on the forum via search function but the attached explains it better.

Random Serial Number - Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum

Yes, Rolex serial numbers used to be sequential, so you could date a watch by the first few digits of the serial number. See this website, for example,

https://www.minus4plus6.com/numbers.htm
    Everyworks likes this.

Patek Philippe Calatrava 5119J; Vacheron Constantin Overseas; Jaeger-LeCoultre Grande Reverso Duo; Rolex Submariner 114060; Omega Seamaster 300; Montblanc Heritage Dual Time; Tudor Black Bay, Black Bay GMT.