not sure where to post - watch losing 20 min in one hour
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: not sure where to post - watch losing 20 min in one hour

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Confused not sure where to post - watch losing 20 min in one hour

Hello, I am brand new to the world of watches and to this forum. What is the best place to ask a repair question? I looked at the forum rules and stickies and didn't see anything about where to post repair questions, so I thought I would start here. If there is a better forum, please let me know and I will post there instead.

I recently bought my first watch - a Poljot Ruslan with a 3133. A few days after I bought it I noticed it lost almost exactly 20 minutes in one hour - and this was in the morning after I had fully wound it. I had not noticed it losing time before this. I timed a few minutes on the seconds dial and it was accurate, and I watched the minute hand move and it looked accurate too for those few minutes, but obviously something is wrong. I bought it on ebay and it seemed to come with legit instructions and case.

Any thoughts on what to do? Should I let the winding run down and then try winding again to see if that helps? Try to return it to the seller on ebay? Send for watch repair? I'm open to repairing it myself if this type of gross time discrepancy is solvable with a novice skill level.

ugh..feeling like I've made a foolish decision to buy this on ebay i may be out a couple hundred and now watchless for a while before I can get the courage up to spend a couple more hundred i hope there's an easy fix! Thank you if you have any thoughts.

Re: not sure where to post - watch losing 20 min in one hour

Have the watch serviced by a watchmaker - Hopefully you got a good deal when you bought it, if so you will have a freshly serviced watch that will give you many years of service... My .02

I think if I were you I'd send it back to Russia.....Get a good watch next time.