Omega Speedmaster or B&M Classima Executive

Thread: Omega Speedmaster or B&M Classima Executive

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Question Omega Speedmaster or B&M Classima Executive

Hi all,

I am new to this forum, and came upon it while I was searching some quality information about watches. I feel like this is the right place to ask this question .

I wanted to get a nice watch for a little while now, and I am about to make the move. I always wanted an Omega Speedmaster Professional. I owned a knock off (boo) when I was a student and today I have saved enough to buy the real thing. However, while looking at options within the same price range, I also saw a Baume & Mercier Classima Executive 8692, which I really like (probably one of the most elegant watches out there). Now, I know these are very different watches obviously, and wanted to tap your opinions.

Is the Omega that much of a step up over the B&M? Are they equivalent in terms of quality, lifetime value, etc?

Thanks!

H
    Last edited by HakimG; March 22nd, 2010 at 17:47.

Re: Omega Speedmaster or B&M Classima Executive

i have tried on both of these watches. they are both beautiful. i would go with cosmetics. whichever appeals to you more. if you dress up more for work, then get the baume. the omega can be dressy but more casual.

can't lose with either, but there will probably be more votes for Omega here because that is a more popular brand. go with your first choice.

v76

Among those two choices, I'd definitely take the Speedmaster Pro every time (handwind cal. 1861 ... cal. 321 would be even better, but that's tougher to get). For me, it's the history of the watch and the proven quality of the caliber that's important.

I'm also more of a movement person, so I'd take an FP 1185 or even better, a cal. 400 El Primero equipped watch anyday. The new Breitling B01, the new Longines column wheel chrono or the Ebel Le Modulor/Type 137 would be good choices too.