The one watch collection, challenge accepted. (Well, 1.5 watch collection)
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: The one watch collection, challenge accepted. (Well, 1.5 watch collection)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

The one watch collection, challenge accepted. (Well, 1.5 watch collection)

Someone had posted here recently about an article on gearpatrol praising the idea of the "one watch collection"

https://gearpatrol.com/2019/06/03/in...ch-collection/.

One can debate the merits of his arguments in the article, especially depending on your point of view of watch collecting, but some of this points resonated with me. I've been flipping watches for about three years now and lately was starting to feel more and more like it was getting to be a bit too much. Too much money spent on things that could have been put to better use, too much time spent looking through forums, too much time thinking about the next watch I'd like instead of concentrating on things I should be doing. Speaking of those last two, hopefully they never check my internet history at work.

Instead of pondering endlessly over what to do about it, or try and convince myself that maybe 4 watches is a good number, I decided to take a stand and take the article writer's advice. From here on out, there will be one and only one watch that sits on my wrist every day.

Name:  5-31-2019 7-06-47 AM.jpg
Views: 57
Size:  92.1 KB

As he put it, "a weighty steel chunk of Swiss engineering, understated and unkillable..". It fulfills all my needs, from shorts and flip flops at the grill to meeting with customers at work in my tie. The only capitulation to necessity I'm making is keeping my old scratched up Seiko Solar Chrono for things that I really don't want to be wearing an Omega while doing (forestry, heavy exercise, roofing, etc.), hence the "1.5 watch collection". Everything else, on goes the Omega.