The other Space Race watch.
Like Tree7Likes
  • 3 Post By ljb187
  • 3 Post By James A
  • 1 Post By BrentYYC

Thread: The other Space Race watch.

The other Space Race watch.

This post started life in the Sales forum, but the watch is long since gone so I'll update it here.

Bulova's Spaceview and Astronaut wristwatches as well as their Accutron 214 movement have a nice history which, due to Omega's icon, aren't really talked about all that much. Are they more important historically than the Speedmaster? Have they accomplished more? I think so. I could be off-track again, but I consider the Spaceview a skeleton watch and think it's one of the best looking and most legible examples of the style ever made. The info below was grabbed off the Internet so I'm no expert, but I think I've got these facts straight - or at least as straight as Internet facts can be. Feel free to correct me if something significant is missing or wrong:

• First fully electronic watch (no balance wheel)
    • First "smooth sweep" seconds hand. The tuning fork oscillates at 360hz...so 360 bps...it's also the reason for the trademark hum
    • First wristwatch to be certified as "railroad approved"
    • By far the most accurate movement of it's time: In 1960 it was rated at +/- 2 seconds per day. My 47 year old refurbished Spaceview was running at -5 sec/day on the same battery four years after purchase
    • Starting in 1958 the 214 was installed satellites, worn on the wrist test pilots & astronauts, but most importantly it was the primary clock/timing device on 40+ space missions - including Apollo 11. A 214 movement has been resting in the Sea of Tranquility for the last 45 years
    • Adopted by the X-15 / A-12 programs (pilots as well) and used exclusively on Air Force 1 in the late 1960s

I realize I'm mixing wristwatches and their movement here, but figured it was more expedient to combine things.

1967 Spaceview

Name:  Top 1.jpg
Views: 393
Size:  137.9 KB