The Perfect One
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: The Perfect One

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question The Perfect One

Hi everyone,

I've been looking around for a new automatic mechanical watch for a few months now. I'm new to mechanical watches, I currently have a Raymond Weil Parsifal Quartz (obv non mech).

After reading some of the posts on this forum, you guys seem to know what your talking about and I thought I'd ask your advice before going any further. Initially I was looking at Raymond Weil automatic mechanical watches and can't quite find the right one, also from what I understand they are not held in high regard as mechanical watches go. I then started looking at Longines?

As I'm not well in the know about good mechanical watches, I've only really come across the big marketed brands. Hopefully you guys can enlighten me. I'm after a watch to last me a lifetime, well under £2k and with the following features in order of priority:

1. Date
    2. Day
    3. Month
    4. Skeleton/Exposed inners
    5. Good make, practical and respected time keeping over flashy!
    6. Non cluttered look
    7. Fluorescent hands
    8. 24 Hour (dial or additional indicator)
    9. Day/night indicator
    10. Moon phase
    11. Alarm? (not sure if this is even a thing with mechanical watches)

Not really interested in a chronograph or chronometer. So do you guys have any advice or guidance with brands?

Also, I've always wondered... With the rotating bit on the back that charges the watch, does the movement only help when swung in one direction or both? Clockwise/anti-clockwise

These are the main ones I've liked the look of so far.

Based in South east asia, travelling between

Re: The Perfect One

The seiko guys will be in here very soon!
    W.A.S. Watch Acquisition Syndrome Patient.

Alarm will cost you in an automatic. Longines is the way I would go. Look at Rado also.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Hamilton makes a nice looking open heart: