Philip Stein or Maurice Lacroix?
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Philip Stein or Maurice Lacroix?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Philip Stein or Maurice Lacroix?

First off, I am a rookie. I have finally graduated from designer (Armani, D&G, etc.) watches and trying to get my first man's watch, I guess I could say. Perhaps my choices aren't a part of the group but I am getting closer. I recently bought this Philip Stein watch (http://www.amazon.com/Philip-Stein-3...882946&sr=8-90). I received it and am not as crazy about it as I hoped about a $1000 watch - possibly because the gray part around the dial is actually mirror-like. This ML (Amazon.com: Maurice Lacroix Men's PT6157-SS001-110 Pontos Rectangulaire Power Reserve Watch: Maurice Lacroix: Watches) caught my eye and now I have to make a fast decision if I should return the PS.

I have a thing for roman numerals but my Emporio Armani is already a steal with silver numerals on a black dial. I just also got a Tissot, steel with silver numerals on white dial. ML would be yet another numeral watch. I buy watches for occasions, and those that really stand out. Tissot is for work.....the PS or ML will be for fancy nights. I try to avoid buying the exact same watches so I don't have to retire older ones.

I would like to receive some opinions based on watch knowledge far greater than mine. You can rate them, say they're both ugly, etc. I haven't heard of PS but perhaps I liked its flashiness. In your critique, if you can teach me something brief a "watch guy" should know I would also appreciate that.

Not a fan of that Philip stein, they don't pull off the dual dial very well. I'm generally a fan of ML but that rectangular face doesn't do it for me, so I'd say neither.
    Current Collection:

IWC Pilot Saint Exupery edition power reserve

Maurice Lacroix Pontos Chrono with Aligator Strap (who says you can't wear a Chrono with a Tux?)

Tag Heuer Grand Carrera Calibre 17 with stainless bracelet (The Desk Diver)