Polishing the crystal
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Mr_Finer_Things
  • 1 Post By John MS
  • 1 Post By schwiiing

Thread: Polishing the crystal

Polishing the crystal

I picked up this Lorus Tank Style Mickey Mouse watch for my wife. The crystal has a slight haze and I'd really like to polish it in hopes of returning it to crystal clear clarity. I've never tried to polish a crystal before and don't want to make it worse. I want to read up on the do's and don'ts but I'm having trouble identifying what type crystal is on the watch.

Is anyone here familiar with this brand to know what you're off crystal it is? Anyone have a recommendation of how to polish the crystal?

Any help would be appreciated. ThanksName:  1017170016a~2.jpg
Views: 160
Size:  90.6 KBName:  1017170015~5.jpg
Views: 149
Size:  63.7 KB

------------
    Trying to rid the world of whiskey - one glass at a time.
    Helping rid the world of the evils of Bourbon. ...one glass at at time.

Re: Polishing the crystal

Gently rubbing a little Brasso on a soft cloth will work wonders for a plastic (acrylic) crystals. Not sure if that's plastic or glass but it looks like plastic to me. It won't hurt glass so there's no harm trying.
    You can also try Meguiars Plastix which is made for automobile plastic lenses.
    Bulova> 96B251. Casio> 5600E. Damasko> DS30. GrandSeiko> SBGH205. Rolex> 116500LN, 16710. Seiko> SARB017, SARB033, SARG007, SBDX017, SLA017, SRP777.

Polywatch start slow with a tiny bit and just work it in

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    NRAchad likes this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

I've had great results on plastic glasses with Sidol. I think Poliwatch would be the best, anyhow.
    Be careful not going too strong on the gold near the glass. Being plated you will make it even thinner, it would be a pity in my opinion...

Is the acrylic itself hazy or is there a haze on the underside of the crystal? I have seen both.