Power Reserve Question

Thread: Power Reserve Question

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member Mr.Jones82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    3,453

    Power Reserve Question

    I did a search and did not come up with anything, so I was wondering if anyone had any possible answers. I bought a Mido Multifort about 3 weeks ago. It is a Powermatic 80, yet when I take it off for a couple of days I have noticed it dies. My other Powermatic does not do this. It can sit over 3 days. Is there something wrong? This is the 3rd or 4th time it has died after 2 days. It runs fine and generally keeps time at about +3 seconds a day. There were a couple of times I may not have been active enough because I was on planes travelling, so that could account for some of it, but I wore it to work Tuesday and I am generally quite active. I had just gotten back after being off for an extended period, so I was very busy that day and running around a lot. Do I need to fully wind it? If so, every time? I have hand wound it, but I do not do it every time. I hand wind intermittently, but not every time when it comes to my automatics and have never had any issues.
    Omega: Aqua Terra 220.10.41.21.03.001
    Grand Seiko: SBGV223, SBGV205
    Oris: Aquis, Pro Pilot
    Sinn: LE 556i
    Longines: Conquest V.H.P.
    G Shock: MTG-B1000D-1A,
    GW-9400-3, GMW-B5000D-1, GMW-B5000GD-1, GX-56BB, GW-B5600GZ-1, GW-B5600FB-4JR, GW-M5610MW-7JF, GW-M5610MD-7JF, GW-B5600BC-1ER, GW-B5600-2ER, GW-B5600HR-1, GW-5000-1JF, GM-5600B-3, GA-2100-4AER, DW-5600SK-1

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The Forgotten Works
    Posts
    2,917

    Re: Power Reserve Question

    The power reserve listed in the specs is based on a full wind. I have a few Powermatics and wind them fully when I put them on after they have run down and they all seem to keep running forever after I move to something else.
    It's fine to fully wind your automatics. I never had a problem and I've done it for years.

  3. #3
    Member Mr.Jones82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    3,453
    So I fully wound my watch today and there was a lot of resistance. I could wind it and I did not force it, but it did not feel right. I am starting to question if I should send it in. I am going to wear it today and see how it runs time wise.
    Omega: Aqua Terra 220.10.41.21.03.001
    Grand Seiko: SBGV223, SBGV205
    Oris: Aquis, Pro Pilot
    Sinn: LE 556i
    Longines: Conquest V.H.P.
    G Shock: MTG-B1000D-1A,
    GW-9400-3, GMW-B5000D-1, GMW-B5000GD-1, GX-56BB, GW-B5600GZ-1, GW-B5600FB-4JR, GW-M5610MW-7JF, GW-M5610MD-7JF, GW-B5600BC-1ER, GW-B5600-2ER, GW-B5600HR-1, GW-5000-1JF, GM-5600B-3, GA-2100-4AER, DW-5600SK-1

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member obomomomo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    4,973

    Re: Power Reserve Question

    I have no experience with Powermatics but since you have 2 watches with the same movement, why not give it a test by fully winding both and let them sit for a few days to see if one stops significantly before the other?
    That would settle one issue about how long the watch keeps going once fully wound. But fom the way you describe, it seems more likely that something is preventing the mainspring from getting fully wound in the first place while in normal use.
    Bulova> 96B251. Casio> 5600E. Damasko> DS30. GrandSeiko> SBGH205. Rolex> 114060, 16710. Seiko> SARB017, SARB033, SBDX017, SLA017.

  6. #5
    Member Mr.Jones82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    3,453
    My other Powermatic goes the full 80. If I remember correctly, I also experienced an uncomfortable amount of resistance winding it, too. But it has been a while since I wound it. I will have to try it again and check.
    Omega: Aqua Terra 220.10.41.21.03.001
    Grand Seiko: SBGV223, SBGV205
    Oris: Aquis, Pro Pilot
    Sinn: LE 556i
    Longines: Conquest V.H.P.
    G Shock: MTG-B1000D-1A,
    GW-9400-3, GMW-B5000D-1, GMW-B5000GD-1, GX-56BB, GW-B5600GZ-1, GW-B5600FB-4JR, GW-M5610MW-7JF, GW-M5610MD-7JF, GW-B5600BC-1ER, GW-B5600-2ER, GW-B5600HR-1, GW-5000-1JF, GM-5600B-3, GA-2100-4AER, DW-5600SK-1

  7. #6
    Member sticky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    South Yorkshire
    Posts
    54,889

    Re: Power Reserve Question

    I can’t see a good reason why you should be having problems if your other watch runs quite happily. Do the test that Obomomomo suggests and if the watch comes up wanting think about having it looked at.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Fireman Power reserve Question
      By CharlesN in forum Ball Forum - Officially Sponsored by Topper Fine Jewelers
      Replies: 11
      Last Post: November 1st, 2007, 16:16
    2. Auto watches with power reserve question.
      By Just Steve in forum TAG Heuer
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: September 18th, 2007, 22:26
    3. TT1 Diver Power Reserve Question
      By snj1013 in forum Oris
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: July 22nd, 2007, 05:28
    4. Power Reserve Question
      By jds1017 in forum Omega
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: July 9th, 2007, 20:17
    5. 656 power reserve question
      By IslandCop in forum Sinn
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: August 14th, 2006, 03:22

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •