To quartz or not to quartz. I have a question.

Thread: To quartz or not to quartz. I have a question.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

To quartz or not to quartz. I have a question.

So I'm new to the whole watch game and I've recently been buying vintage watches because I love their design.

Right now I'm looking to buy a newer watch, on that I can wear everyday, and my eyes have floated to Panerai.

The only problem is that I don't have the money.

I did some research and found that the Glycine Incursore has a similar style to the Panerai(simple large dial), but without the price tag.

I found one that's selling for around $275, and I've posted pictures of it below.

The only thing is that it's a quartz watch.

I don't know much about quartz watches other than they are cheaper then others and supposedly keep better time.

Is it stupid after buying two wind-ups and an automatic to get a quartz watch?

(I know generally you're supposed to stick to one style or company, but I'm just not a one watch kind of guy.)

Thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: To quartz or not to quartz. I have a question.

Sorry about those photos. Here's a larger one.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Welcome to the forum

OK, many here frown upon a quartz watch. Me, I love 'em. If you want deadly accuracy, quartz is for you. It makes lots of sense to me in wanting to own timepieces that represent the different technologies found in Horology

The movement in the Glycine you've posted will be accurate to around +/-15 seconds per month. Its either a Ronda or ETA movement. Not bad, but for a little bit more cash, you can do a lot better imo. The Japanese have the Swiss licked when it comes to quartz technology. This watch, avaliable for $400 bucks features a quartz movement (the 8F56) accurate to +/-20 seconds per year, has a GMT function, a perpetual calendar, titanium case and bracelet and a 10 year battery life...

Seiko SBQJ015

Also avaliable with a black dial