Raymond Weil Tradition or Frederique Constant Slimline?
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Raymond Weil Tradition or Frederique Constant Slimline?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Raymond Weil Tradition or Frederique Constant Slimline?

Hi all,

I am a massive newbie to the world of Swiss watches, but I have been eyeing off a couple of watches and cannot decide which is a better buy.

The first is a Frederique Constant FC245 and the second is a Raymond Weil Tradition Date. They are the same price ($650 USD), and similar style (quartz, black leather band, white round face).

Could anyone shed some light on how I should pick between the two?? I'd appreciate any advice particularly on how the brands match up now, and what you think will happen to the brands in the future (and why)... Perhaps you think there is something better than these two watches in this price range? Really I just want a quality watch that is classic looking and will hold value.

Cheers guys! Heres a link to the two watches:
    Tradition Men Watches by RAYMOND WEIL Genève Luxury Men Watches
    Frédérique Constant | Watch - FC-245M4S6B

Re: Raymond Weil Tradition or Frederique Constant Slimline?

Welcome!

This or this right?

Name:  tradition-gents-media.jpg
Views: 4792
Size:  47.8 KBName:  d6c6fed2e82ee7a42f37868f8edb2b3e.png
Views: 5406
Size:  490.5 KB

The most important factor is which you think looks best (I prefer the RW).

FC have some lovely in-house movements at great prices which I'm sure will only go up over time, but you're not looking at those so I don't suppose it matters so much. Some people think RW is a 'mall brand' because you see them everywhere in shops. But I think it's more important to judge a piece on its own.
    Last edited by geoffbot; December 28th, 2012 at 13:46. Reason: further thoughts
    ZachB and Metlin like this.

If you are interested in Frederique Constant, the answer for now should always be THIS:
    FC-710MC4H6