Recommend me a classy on/off duty watch

Thread: Recommend me a classy on/off duty watch

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Recommend me a classy on/off duty watch

Hello all

I am looking for a new watch to wear on and off duty. First of all im a patrol officer who currently wears a Protrek PRG-240. Ive had nothing but digital watches througout the years, mainly Suunto and Casio.

Ive been very happy with Casio, but this time i'm looking for a analog watch with a bit more class and character, yet it should still be relatively tough. No metal bands please.

I was intitially looking at the Luminox Sentry, but ive read several reviews (Luminox in general) written by unhappy owners. Reliability is very important to me, so i decided to pass on Luminox.

I also had a quick peek on the G-Shock offerings, but many of the analog versions looked very busy and cluttered. I havent written them off completely though.

I saw a picture of a Citizen Royal Marine Commando on the wrist of a fellow officer and i liked it very much. It looked classy yet robust. I liked the clear and big numbers on the dial and the kevlar band.

So my questions to you gentlemen, as i dont know squat about analogs, can you recommend me a watch akin to the Citizen and in the same price range?

To sum up my wants:

Clear dial
    No metal bands
    Acceptable luminecense
    Date
    Relatively tough
    Reliable
    A stopwatch would be great, but not a dealbreaker
    Skindiving WR
    Last edited by PropThePolecat; October 4th, 2013 at 17:20.

Re: Recommend me a classy on/off duty watch

Not totally clear on your budget, and if you want quartz (analog) or mechanical (analog) ... but how about the Marathon JSAR ?

If you prefer auto / mechanical, the Orient Aviator would be another great option.
    Last edited by archimedes; October 4th, 2013 at 17:30.

My budget is around 250-300 GBP. Preferably quartz as I've been told they're more precise.

Thanks for the suggestion, the Marathon looks very nice.