Recommend me a watch!
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Recommend me a watch!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Recommend me a watch!

Hello, first time poster and complete watch noob here. I'm looking to get my first real watch (my timex weekender doesn't count), which I'll try to wear daily to work and outside of work. I'm 23 and have to dress business casual, if that affects things at all. I'd like to be able to wear it in dress settings, but realistically speaking, I probably won't be in those type of situations a lot (does a date count?).

Aside from knowing that Rolexes are expensive and Omegas are a bit less expensive, I don't really know much else about watches. I like really simple, clean, and modern looking watches, preferably with date, a blue dial, and brown leather band. That does not mean metallic bands are out of the question, although they do clip my arm hair. I also have a small wrist (~6.5 inches), so I guess nothing larger than 42mm (just a guess here)?

I don't care for much else, although I'd like something with as little maintenance as possible. If changing watch batteries will be a hassle, then I'd prefer mechanical watches. Otherwise, I prefer quartz watches. If the watch has leather bands, I don't imagine water resistance being a requirement.

As for budget, I don't really have a hard limit. I prefer something cheap (less than 100), although if it is blue, modern and clean looking, has date, and comes with a brown leather band (or metal band if you can convince), I'm willing to pay 200-500 for a decent watch.

Give me everything you got guys. Are there any pros and cons to what I just described (like blue dial and dress settings don't mix)?
    Last edited by nosrep123; January 14th, 2014 at 03:21.

Re: Recommend me a watch!

Quote Originally Posted by nosrep123 View Post