Saving for an expensive watch at a young(ish) age?
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Saving for an expensive watch at a young(ish) age?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Saving for an expensive watch at a young(ish) age?

Hey all, I am quite new to this forum but I'm looking for some advice. I just turned 26 so I am not that young but I feel young compared to some of the wiser and more experienced members here (don't want to be rude at all I have a lot of respect for my elders). I have been into watches for about 2 years now since I first went to Japan. I am still a student right now but I am working part time as well. I don't make a lot of money but after buying a few watches (just got my 3rd, a skx007) I am now starting to seriously save for a much more expensive watch. At this point in my life, I don't have any kind of serious commitments financially. Since I am relatively young and do not have a wife or kids do you think it is wise to save for/buy an expensive watch? I know in some ways it makes more sense to get it later when I have a full time job but I feel like I will also have more financial obligations then, and the earlier I get it the longer I can enjoy it . I have seen some posts arguing both ways, that the money is better used put towards something else or its better to get it before you have serious responsibility.

I have 2 watches now (soon to be 3) but I will never be a big collector. I am a minimalist at heart and prefer to buy a few things of great quality then to have many cheap things. However my largest purchase up until now would be a $700 bomber jacket, so a 5k watch is a big step up from that.

In general I'm just curious about people's thoughts on getting an expensive watch at a young age vs using the money for something else.

Also for those wondering I'm saving for a Breitling Avenger II.
    have:
    Squale 20 Atmos
    Seiko SRP443
    Citizen Nighthawk
    Seiko SKX007
    Casio DW-5600MS
    the dream:
    Breitling avenger II