Should the 7750 Movement Start by Movement Alone?

Thread: Should the 7750 Movement Start by Movement Alone?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Should the 7750 Movement Start by Movement Alone?

I just purchased a beautiful used Hamilton Khaki Automatic Chrono from eBay. The seller is very responsive and trustworthy.

Upon opening the box, the first thing I did after inspecting the exterior of the watch was to give it a little side to side motion (light shake/tilting) to get the seconds sub dial moving. I did this from a completely wound-down "dead" start and was unable to get the seconds hand into motion.

While I am no expert- this seems to indicate a problem with the automatic winding function. Is my reasoning correct? The only other possibility I can think of is that this particular movement requires an activation by manual winding for the self winding to happen. Seems like faulty logic- the self winding should work from a dead stop, shouldn't it???

Can an expert please shed some light. I feel like I need to get back to the seller quickly or risk having my inspection period pass by. I don't want to wind and wait days to observe the results if I can avoid it. Thanks!

lvt

Re: Should the 7750 Movement Start by Movement Alone?

AFAIK the 7750 has an uni-directional winding, meaning the watch will be wound only when the rotor turns clock-wise, so the "shake to start" might not be as effective as with a bi-directional winding movement, eg. 2892, 2836...

If your watch's second hand starts running after 3 or 4 crown turns I think the watch is fine, my two watches with 2836-2 generally start right after some shakings or 2 crown turns.
    Ball - Casio (G-shock) - HMT - Longines - Parnis - Seagull - Steinhart - Tissot - Victorinox - Yema

yes, the 7750s rotor only winds the watch in 1 direction, so would require more motion to get it goin from fully unwound state.

Even sometimes a bi-directional winder auto will take me seemingly a lot of shakes to get it going.