Some automatic watch questions!
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Some automatic watch questions!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Some automatic watch questions!

Big hello to everyone who is reading this. Recently I started to take an interest into watches and stumbled upon this forum. I am a novice in the watch field and thus would like to seek everyone's opinion and experience on some questions that I have. I have googled some of the questions but was unable to get a clear answer to the questions. I understand that by posting the questions again it might be bothering you guys but please don't flame me for it! I recently purchased a second hand Bulova 97a109 and the questions are as follows:

1) I do not know how many "turns" will fully wind the watch. The manual says 8-9 full turns while I've seen people saying that you may wind it 20-30times? Which brings me to my next question
    2) Is it possible to overwind the automatic watch? I know that many has already state that it is not possible to overwind it but I've also read that it is possible to stress the watch if you wind it too many times? Sorry I am still quite new to this. It is my first automatic/mechanical watch!
    3) Does anyone knows the power reserve of this watch? I've read that other models power reserve is about 25-35hours? Mine is clocking in about 27-28hours and I'm not sure if it's usual?
    4) This question seems to be highly debatable in the forum. As I wear my watch only once per week (or even lesser), is it better to let it stop and wind it when I wear it or to keep it running on my watch winder?

I understand that others have asked before me but I would still like to ask again, especially the first three questions. Thank you for taking your time to read through my questions and have a great day ahead!
    Last edited by gene89; August 27th, 2014 at 14:23.

Re: Some automatic watch questions!