SOTC + grail purchase pending + 40th bday coming up. What to do!?
Like Tree65Likes

Thread: SOTC + grail purchase pending + 40th bday coming up. What to do!?

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

SOTC + grail purchase pending + 40th bday coming up. What to do!?

Bear with me, this may be a little long but hey, there will be pictures so it's not all bad news.

I've been saving up for a Speedmaster Professional for a couple years and I'm just about ready to buy it. That's unrelated to my 40th birthday this summer; for that, I want another special watch. Surprisingly, my wife is encouraging this more than I thought she would especially since I'm already about to buy an expensive watch like the Speedy. I have some company stocks maturing and I've been given the green light to take some of those funds and spend toward a second watch. All good news so far!

The main issue is - what should I get? I like so many watches, but what I do know is that I want something special to form a formidable duo with the Speedy.

Courtesy of Omega.com, this is of course what I'm talking about.

Name:  Omega Speedmaster Professional.jpg
Views: 175
Size:  143.2 KB

Just so you have an idea of the current rotation, these are the seven I normally wear to work (some more than others). The rest are true affordables that I won't list here.

Casio Oceanus

Citizen Signature Octavia chrono

Citizen Grand Classic

Casio G-Shock

Bulova Surveyor HEQ

Certina DS-2 PreciDrive

Citizen AT4008

Quite a few chronos, so the Speedy fits right in there.

Now, the candidates right now for "Watch # 2". Some pricier than others.

Omega AT grey dial (photo lifted from our very own 41METS here on WUS)

Name:  Omega Aqua Terra 8900 grey dial.jpg
Views: 188
Size:  67.2 KB

Omega Seamaster 2018 model in blue (picture by Monochrome Watches)

Name:  Omga SMP 8800 monochrome watches.jpg
Views: 177
Size:  9.2 KB

Rolex Datejust 36mm (Picture by Hodinkee)

Name:  ROLEX DATEJUST 36.jpg
Views: 182
Size:  92.3 KB