Suggestions for first time mechanical watch purchase
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By mpalmer
  • 1 Post By Heljestrand
  • 1 Post By sticky

Thread: Suggestions for first time mechanical watch purchase

Suggestions for first time mechanical watch purchase

Hi all,

Thanks for taking the time to read this. I'm looking to purchase my first mechanical watch, and I've been coming here for a couple of months trying to glean as much information as possible to make sure I purchase a good watch, that will become something I could hand down to my kids. Also, from what I can see, there seem to be huge differences in prices for identical watches depending where you purchase them from, so any assistance you could give me regarding where to purchase from would be greatly appreciated. I live in Australia, so we don't seem to have the same choice as other parts of the world.

I'd appreciate any help you could give me in regards to suggestions for a good first buy. I have approx US$600-700 to spend and I've been looking at Tissot or Hamilton (but happy to look elsewhere). If possible in that price range, the watch would have sapphire glass, date function (at a minimum), an ETA 2892.A2 movement and some of the movement exposed so you can see it working. Any additional features/complications over and above that would be great of course :) I realise I may not be able to get all this, but just thought it is a good place to start.

Some watches I've looked at along the way - Tissot T099.427.11.038.00 T-Classic Chemin Des Tourelles Auto Chronograph, T086.408.16.051.00 T-Classic Luxury Automatic Gent COSC, T0554271705700 T-Sport PRC 200 Auto Chronograph, T035.428.11.051.00 T-Classic Couturier Automatic Gent Small Second.

Thanks in advance,

Mac.

Re: Suggestions for first time mechanical watch purchase

Welcome to the forums! If you can raise the budget $100-200, Stowa, Nivrel, and Limes are great options. Archimede is within your stated budget.
    Heljestrand likes this.