Swatch quartz same as high end quartz watches?
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Swatch quartz same as high end quartz watches?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Swatch quartz same as high end quartz watches?

I was wondering if the quartz movement in Swatches the same as in higher end watch brands like Tag?

Thanks.
    "It is the hour of pearl—the interval between day and night when time stops and examines itself."
    -j. steinbeck

Re: Swatch quartz same as high end quartz watches?

With around 50 components, I doubt it. But I still like'em...

Noooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

stuffler,mike

No.

I did not think as but wanted to make sure.

I have very little knowledge of quartz movements.
    "It is the hour of pearl—the interval between day and night when time stops and examines itself."
    -j. steinbeck

Which Swatch model, if any, were you looking at? Some are very attractive I have to admit.

The other day I was actually checking out the range at my local AD. I saw an amazing Swatch Platinum and a Carousel, a rather nice 25 jewel auto skeleton in steel and one which particularly took my fancy, called Irony Retrograde "A SERIOUS AFFAIR YRG400".

A couple of real life pics for you...

"High end" quartz movements are generally defined by more jewels and better materials (gold plated stainless steel gears as opposed to brass or plastic gears). Those features (except for thermocompensation in very high-end movements) are intended to enhance the movement's repairability, but since Swatches are sealed during manufacture, it doesn't make sense to equip them with repairable movements.

Quote Originally Posted by usc1 View Post
    I was wondering if the quartz movement in Swatches the same as in higher end watch brands like Tag?

Thanks.