Things you wished you knew?

Thread: Things you wished you knew?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Question Things you wished you knew?

Hi,
    Discovered WUS couple weeks and can't stop reading!!! This is my first post...

It seems like there are A LOT of seasoned watch collectors on this forum. Just curious, what are some of the things you wished you knew? Any regrets on some of your purchases? What are the things a new collector should watch out for?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Things you wished you knew?

Off the top of my head:

1) Just because everyone else is telling you a certain watch is great, don't bow to peer pressure - get what you think matches your taste and style, not someone else's.

2) You can get some pretty good deals on the sales forums, but remember to "buy the seller", and if its too good to be true, it is.
    Lots of dive watches.

Vancouver Island / California (depending on the citizenship I use)

I'm pretty new to this game as well, but I've already learned one thing - if you really want a watch, and you have the money to afford it responsibly, and it's available at a decent price - jump on it.

Case Study 1 - Omega AD has a beautiful new 2254.50 for sale, last one, the watch has been discontinued. He offers it to me for $2000 CND, inclusive of taxes. That is an incredible deal, and this watch, a Seamaster, is one that I've wanted since I was quite young. I pass on it, because, at the last minute, I balk at spending $2000 on a watch. Other people don't understand why I would, so I convinced myself I shouldn't do it. I still regret that decision - and it's too late to rectify it, since, on my last pass through that AD the watch was gone. Oh well, on to bigger and better things.