Thoughts on water resistance in the shower

View Poll Results: What do you think about the conclusion?

Voters
43. This poll is closed
  • Interesting, that might be a good point.

17 39.53%
  • Jockeys is an idiot.

9 20.93%
  • I have no idea what's going on.

17 39.53%

Thread: Thoughts on water resistance in the shower

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Thoughts on water resistance in the shower

preface: I'm a mathematician by training, so I decided to treat this as a physics problem. This may or may not have any bearing on real life

I’ve heard it said that the water comes out of your shower at sufficient speeds that it can hit your watch and exceed the pressure rating, causing water to enter the case. Let’s examine the physics behind this. For measurement purposes, I’m measuring my Casio MTG1000. The buttons are about 3mmX7mm which is 21 square millimeters. Slightly less since it’s not a perfect rectangle, we’ll call it 20mm^2 for convenience.
    This watch is nominally rated at 20 bar of pressure resistance. That is equivalent to 2 million Pascals, or 2 megapascals. For the sake of discussion, we’ll assume that the buttons are a weak spot and are only good for 10 bar, or 1 megapascal. We can ignore atmospheric pressure here because there is ostensibly air inside of the watch as well, negating that, so we only need to calculate instantaneous delta-P to figure out of that 10 bar button rating is met. 10bar is equal to 1 million pascals, which is in turn equal to one million newtons of force per square meter, which is in turn equal to one Newton of force per square millimeter.
    A droplet of water is nominally 1 milliliter in free fall. 1ml of water has about 1 gram of weight under ideal conditions, sometimes a little less. If we assume that water leaves the shower head traveling at 10m/s (about 22 miles per hour, a very high estimate unless you are showering with a pressure washer). 1 gram x 10m/s ^2 = 0.01 newton.