TIMEX Indiglo: the BEST night lighting ?

Thread: TIMEX Indiglo: the BEST night lighting ?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

TIMEX Indiglo: the BEST night lighting ?

I'm relatively new to this watch world (meaning that I only recently got the strange desire simultaneously to own more than one working watch at a time). From what I've seen so far, as long as one is willing to press a button, the TIMEX Indiglo lighting system seems to be the best most legible night 'time' viewing technology that there is. Yes, I've seen tritium tubes and they are certainly better than 'superlumina', but IMHO tritium can't beat the full face evenly lit display offered by Indiglo. I've wondered why more watches don't use something like this and have assumed that it's covered by some broad patent or other...
    Comments ? Dissent ? From those who've seen more of the watch world than myself ?

stuffler,mike

Re: TIMEX Indiglo: the BEST night lighting ?

Well, I do know that Timex received the patent for the Indiglo® nightlight in 1988 and that Indiglo is a registered trademark since then.
    The dial is coated with a compound of zinc sulfide mixed with copper, a substance which becomes luminescent when an electrical charge is applied. This layer is sandwiched between two conductive layers which act as electrodes. When the button is pushed, energy is supplied by the battery across the two electrodes, which in turn lights up the dial.
    What I don´t know is how that compares to full luminous (Superluminova) dials from Damasko for example.

Can´t answer your question because I can´t compare.

Planet Ocean

Quote Originally Posted by thorick View Post