The toughest automatic or winding watch
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: The toughest automatic or winding watch

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

The toughest automatic or winding watch

What is the toughest winding or automatic watch one can buy? I am new to watches and have a lot to learn. I know quartz are more durable but strongly prefer mechanical / automatic watches. I am always on a budget so under $500 is ideal but would like to know what would be the best if money was no object. Thanks everyone 🙂

Re: The toughest automatic or winding watch

Generally speaking the toughest designation goes to Marathon watches (https://marathonwatch.com/) in any category that they play in. Their steel watches are relatively expensive, between $700 and $1000 but their fiber-reinforced plastic watches are within your price range and probably even tougher in terms of shock resistance.

In the luxury category, Omegas certainly have the credibility with their spaceflight certification and all, but they're a lot more expensive.

It should be noted though, that all modern mechanical movements use the same fundamental technology and will have the same general level of shock resistance (inferior to quartz).
    Last edited by watchNoob; June 7th, 2018 at 23:16.
    sefrcoko likes this.

Alpina makes some pretty tough watches. The Alpiner 4 series comes to mind. The "4" stands for the four key attributes of the watch: Anti-magnetic. Anti-shock. Water Resistant. Stainless Steel. I have an Alpina Alpiner 4 GMT. It also keeps pretty decent time, losing about 1 sec a day on the wrist. I don't think it's fair to compare water resistance as part of the criteria, because dive watches can have insane WR ratings, but not come close to the shock and antimag features of other watches. But I do think WR is important to be a tough watch.

This exact thread was introduced last year:
    https://forums.watchuseek.com/f2/most...h-4296370.html