Two watches in the MRI! Whoops!

Thread: Two watches in the MRI! Whoops!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Two watches in the MRI! Whoops!

Long story short, I messed up. I always wear one of my watches. I'm a paramedic and my second job is assisting patients being sedated For MRI's. In the last month I have brought my ball and breitling into the MRI room. The ball is fast 4 minutes a day and the breitling 2 minutes fast per day. Firstly after the second incident I leave my watch in the car so this won't happen again. Cars locked and in a rather safe parking lot. My question is can my local watch guys fix this issue, or is it something that needs to be sent to the manufacturer for a arm and a leg. Any advice or info would be appreciated.

Re: Two watches in the MRI! Whoops!

Hi from a grad student in medical imaging!

From what I know (luckily, I haven't forgotten to take a watch off yet in the MRI room), this is a quick, simple, and cheap fix that any local watch guy should be able to take care of in 5 minutes or less, for $10 or less. Most people report their watch guy demagnetizing their watch in 15 seconds for free.

Good luck! Maybe it's time for a Rolex Milgauss?

Should be a pretty simple fix with a demagnetizer.
    Nomos Orion Anthracite; Destro watches: Ω "Great White" GMT, MKII Blackwater, Sinn EZM1 LE, IWC 3536-001, MKII Kingston, Precista Speedbird I, Casio MR-G120, Casio GW-5000, Sinn EZM2; Former Watches: Corvus Bradley

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

WnS

Quote Originally Posted by physics.fun View Post
    Maybe it's time for a Rolex Milgauss?
    Even that is not resistant enough to the immense magnetic field of an MRI machine.
    I'm content with my watch collection